Alternative Energy Forum | Nature2Energy.com  

Sponsors
Our Forums
Stock Market Cats
Motorized Bicycles

Go Back   Alternative Energy Forum | Nature2Energy.com > Alternative Energy Systems > Wind Power Systems / Wind Turbines

Wind Power Systems / Wind Turbines Wind Power is the conversion of wind energy into a useful form, such as electricity, using wind turbines.

This is my plan.....input wanted

Wind Power is the conversion of wind energy into a useful form, such as electricity, using wind turbines.

Old 03-04-2010, 06:41 AM

Default This is my plan.....input wanted

I am new to this & have done some research & I think I have my system laid out. I am planning on making a wind system using a squirel cage style "turbine". Standard fan styles wont' work due to low wind speeds. I am either going to build or buy a permanent magnet alternator from windbluepower. For storage, I read somewhere that forklift batterieswork great due to the deep-cycle storage capacity. I am looking at adding a sub-panel to my exsisting breaker box and using 120v, 2500/5000 watt, stackable inverters for power - [link removed by myocardia]
Here is my list of questions:
1. Have I missed anything?
2. The inverters are semi-pure sine wave - will they cause issues with electronics or will I need to get a pure-sine inverter? Will the battery back-ups on my computers be fine instead?
3. I plan on moving my whole house off-grid, how would I go about hooking up 220v for my a/c, stove etc?
4. Would regular inverters be damage by stacking or do I need to stick with those?

I do realize that these are not grid-tie inverters and that I would have to bypass the system. I plan on doing this in stages which is why I am looking at the stackable inverters. I estimate that I will need about 12-15000watts continous to run my whole house and garage without taxing the system. Am I being ambitious or is this realistic?

Thanks
Ross

Last edited by myocardia; 03-04-2010 at 01:56 PM.
Old 03-05-2010, 12:58 AM